plcforum.uz.ua

International PLC Forum
It is currently Thu Aug 24, 2017 6:09 am

All times are UTC + 3 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Dec 26, 2016 4:30 pm 

Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 10:27 pm
Posts: 6
Hi,

Recently I bought PC Adapter USB MPI, product of AMSAMOTION (chinese copy of Siemens 6ES7972-0CB20-0XA0). I can't make it working not on S7-200 (Microwin), nor on S7-300 (Step 7 v5.5). Just it cannot be connected to the PLCs. I tried PC Adapter PPI, MPI, Profibus PG/PC Interface, no luck. In Device Manager the cable is visible, that's OK. The LEDs are ON too, so the adapter is power supplied obviously. Does anybody have experience with this cables?
Thank you in advance, guys!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 26, 2016 4:56 pm 
Site Admin

Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2006 6:25 pm
Posts: 3019
Location: Russia
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=htqLhjyqeVk


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 26, 2016 7:19 pm 

Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2011 5:02 pm
Posts: 105
Hi
Some of Chinese copy working only on XP and also not with last Siemens USB adaptor driver.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 26, 2016 9:57 pm 

Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 10:27 pm
Posts: 6
Hi again,

The video on Youtube shows the usage of PPI cable, and my cable is MPI.
Also I tried the cable on XP, same outcome. I guess it needs AMSAMOTION driver as mohdabshr advises , but I could not find it on their site. I will keep on looking for it, just nothing left to try.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 27, 2016 4:26 am 

Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 6:28 am
Posts: 83
Just use PC Adapter.PPI.1

or :choose only master, profibus-universal, 9.6k


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 28, 2016 9:39 pm 

Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 10:27 pm
Posts: 6
Hi,

Thank you very much, xflash, it worked using the settings for Profibus. I wonder why it did not work with the settings for PPI. Any explanation?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2016 6:33 pm 

Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 6:28 am
Posts: 83
vasilevdim wrote:
Hi,

Thank you very much, xflash, it worked using the settings for Profibus. I wonder why it did not work with the settings for PPI. Any explanation?


MPI, PPI or some other Siemens RS485 protocols except Profibus-DP are based on Profibus-DP, also your pc adapter maybe is A2 type, you are selecting wrong one.

This is a little problem :) ,for the real work, just finish your work and concentrate on your logic :D .

Good luck.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2016 9:24 pm 

Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 10:27 pm
Posts: 6
Hello, Xflash,

Agreed, the work can be done, and this is the most important, many thanks once again.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 3 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by International PLCforum® Forum Software © PLCforum
Mobile version