mpi to RS-232

Utilites for Simatic Automation
Post Reply
ahmad_maheri
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2016 11:18 am

mpi to RS-232

Post by ahmad_maheri » Thu Jan 03, 2019 7:43 pm

HI

i have a cup-314c-2DP .. how can change mpi to rs-232? could i convert mpi to rs-232 with out any special convertor?
thanks for your attention

illiterate
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2012 12:04 am

Re: mpi to RS-232

Post by illiterate » Thu Jan 03, 2019 11:58 pm

Hi

The easy way to convert MPI to rs232 is to buy a siemens programming lead

CoMod
Site Admin
Posts: 3559
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2006 3:25 pm
Location: Russia
Contact:

Re: mpi to RS-232

Post by CoMod » Fri Jan 04, 2019 5:58 am

it impossible (h)
MPI and Profibus is software interface with RS485 electrical interface
"RS232" is RS232 electrical interface :)

What do you want to do ?
1. Connect the Step7 computer to PLC ? => buy MPI/Profibus USB CP5711 https://support.industry.siemens.com/cs ... 1571-1aa00
2. Connect external sensor to PLC ? => buy CP341 https://support.industry.siemens.com/cs ... 1ah02-0ae0
6ES7341-1AH02-0AE0
CP 341 RS232C (V.24)
SIMATIC S7-300, CP 341 Communications processor with RS232C interface (RS-232-C)

ahmad_maheri
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2016 11:18 am

Re: mpi to RS-232

Post by ahmad_maheri » Fri Jan 04, 2019 4:41 pm

HI
thanks for reply...i have an old hmi that its other port are devastated and i have to use rs-232 into connect to it.

Post Reply