[Problem]: Installation RSlogix 5000 emulate on win7

RSLinx, RSLogix, RSView, LogixPro ...
Post Reply
jareckik
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 11:57 am

[Problem]: Installation RSlogix 5000 emulate on win7

Post by jareckik » Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:03 pm

Hi!
Anywone have tried to install this emulate on win7 ? I have v17 wersion and, there is instalation error: "This product cannot be installed on your current operating system". Which version i can instaling on win7 ? Thanks for any help.

cuongvcs
Posts: 142
Joined: Fri May 23, 2008 4:00 pm
Location: Vietnam

Re: [Problem]: Installation RSlogix 5000 emulate on win7

Post by cuongvcs » Thu Dec 16, 2010 3:27 pm

Hi all.
RSEmulater5000V-17 not suport win 7.
good luck
(thnx)

neuhauser
Posts: 70
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2010 9:18 pm

Re: [Problem]: Installation RSlogix 5000 emulate on win7

Post by neuhauser » Fri Dec 17, 2010 7:19 pm

Right now Rockwell doesn't officially support windows 7. Some software runs, some doesn't. Their official solution is XP on VMware workstation.

Don't even try XP mode in Windows 7. It will just waste your time and frustrate you.

Another solution I use is xp in the free Virtualbox. I use this in Ubuntu but the last Virtualbox build crashes in Windows 7 x64. x32 seems to be ok.

VMware and Virtualbox can access the network and serial ports but you're outta luck if you have a PCMK comm card. Neither supports PCMCIA services.

Virtualbox is a lot better on system resources but it doesn't have the file drag and drop that VMware has. You can set up a shared folder between the hoist and guest os if you need to transfer files.(It's free so who's griping?)
If you decide to try these options I'll be happy to answer any questions.

cuongvcs
Posts: 142
Joined: Fri May 23, 2008 4:00 pm
Location: Vietnam

Re: [Problem]: Installation RSlogix 5000 emulate on win7

Post by cuongvcs » Fri Dec 17, 2010 11:35 pm

Hi neuhauser
You can guide me ,how to do it?
What's your solution ?
thank (close)

neuhauser
Posts: 70
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2010 9:18 pm

Re: [Problem]: Installation RSlogix 5000 emulate on win7

Post by neuhauser » Sun Dec 19, 2010 2:36 am

What operating system are you running? Windows 7 32 or 64?
How much memory does your system have?
How much free space do you have on your hard drive?
Which operating system do you want to run the software on. Windows XP or Windows 2000?
How do you plan to activate?

If you can give me this info I can give you your best solution and guide you through the setup.

Another option is a dual boot system - WinXP/ Win7. But because you already have 7 loaded you would have to start from scratch- partition to 2 or more drives, install winXP first, find the correct drivers for XP, install windows 7, reload all software,etc- a real pain in the ass. My system is Ubuntu 10.10/ Windows XP SP2/ Windows 7 x64.

cuongvcs
Posts: 142
Joined: Fri May 23, 2008 4:00 pm
Location: Vietnam

Re: [Problem]: Installation RSlogix 5000 emulate on win7

Post by cuongvcs » Sun Dec 19, 2010 2:46 pm

Thank neuhauser
I only ask to know. I'm using Win XP .
When I used Win 7 ,I'll ask you to help.
(tyou) (tyou) (tyou) (suc) (gpost)

carvafer
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 6:55 pm
Location: Brasil

Re: [Problem]: Installation RSlogix 5000 emulate on win7

Post by carvafer » Thu Jan 06, 2011 3:03 pm

You can use RSEmulate V19 with Win 7 Prof. 32 bits

Post Reply