plcforum.uz.ua

International PLC Forum
It is currently Tue Sep 26, 2017 1:30 am

All times are UTC + 3 hours


Forum rules


Please click here to view the forum rules



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2015 5:36 pm 

Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2015 5:22 pm
Posts: 2
Hi,
I need get some data from a Omron PLC, model SYSMAC C200HX, this is an old plc that only have a serial port RS-232C. The fact is I need to convert and pass the serial data to ethernet/ip (from the plc to the pc). For this I found the advantech device ADAM-4571 that can get the data from serial (RS-232 and RS-485 and RS-422) and pass into ethernet/ip. The pc will have a OPC Server that will map the ip. In theory I think this can work, but could happen some complications? or the data will not be corrupted? Someone can share any experience in a similar case?.

Thanks an regards.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 09, 2015 6:05 pm 

Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2014 9:16 pm
Posts: 81
plaracFD wrote:
Hi,
I need get some data from a Omron PLC, model SYSMAC C200HX, this is an old plc that only have a serial port RS-232C. The fact is I need to convert and pass the serial data to ethernet/ip (from the plc to the pc). For this I found the advantech device ADAM-4571 that can get the data from serial (RS-232 and RS-485 and RS-422) and pass into ethernet/ip. The pc will have a OPC Server that will map the ip. In theory I think this can work, but could happen some complications? or the data will not be corrupted? Someone can share any experience in a similar case?.

Thanks an regards.

Most of the problems you can find are related to the parameters of serial/ethernet sections. You need to double check the serial parameters in the PLC and the gateway (Advantech module).

I implemented this kind of solution in other architectures using a Lantronix device:

http://www.lantronix.com/products/xpres ... ss-dr-iap/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 09, 2015 7:56 pm 

Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2015 5:22 pm
Posts: 2
Hi, after you configured your Lantronix device, Did you have any problem with corrupted data? or everething works fine after the configuration of your device?,


NowanH wrote:
plaracFD wrote:
Hi,
I need get some data from a Omron PLC, model SYSMAC C200HX, this is an old plc that only have a serial port RS-232C. The fact is I need to convert and pass the serial data to ethernet/ip (from the plc to the pc). For this I found the advantech device ADAM-4571 that can get the data from serial (RS-232 and RS-485 and RS-422) and pass into ethernet/ip. The pc will have a OPC Server that will map the ip. In theory I think this can work, but could happen some complications? or the data will not be corrupted? Someone can share any experience in a similar case?.

Thanks an regards.

Most of the problems you can find are related to the parameters of serial/ethernet sections. You need to double check the serial parameters in the PLC and the gateway (Advantech module).

I implemented this kind of solution in other architectures using a Lantronix device:

http://www.lantronix.com/products/xpres ... ss-dr-iap/


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 3 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by International PLCforum® Forum Software © PLCforum
Mobile version